Saturday, 15 September 2012

Prince of Asturias Awards 2012 - the list

Find out more below
ASTURIAS / Oviedo The Prince of Asturias Awards are presented annually by the Foundation of the same name that was founded in the city of Oviedo on 24th September 1980 at a formal ceremony presided over by the Prince of Asturias, Heir to the throne of Spain, and his parents, the King and Queen of Spain. The essential aims of the Foundation are to consolidate links between the Principality and the Prince of Asturias, and to encourage and promote the scientific, cultural and humanistic values that form part of mankind’s universal heritage. The awards (in eight categories: Arts,  Communication and Humanities, Literature, Sports, Social Sciences, Technical and Scientific Research, International Cooperation, and  Concord - click on link for past laureates) carry international prestige. Past winners include SOON YOU WILL BE UNABLE TO READ THE REST OF ITEMS LIKE THIS UNLESS YOU SUBSCRIBE>>>
Leonard Cohen, Yasser Arafat & Ytzak Rabin, Yehudi Menuhin &Mstislav Rostropovich, Jane Goodall, Fernando Alonso, Maya Plisetskaya & Tamara Rojo, The Ntional Geographich Society, The Youth Orchestra System of Venezuela, Sir Norman Foster, The Royal Society, and, of course, many more.

This year's awards go to

Rafael Moneo (Architecture, Spain)

Communications and Humanities
Shigeru Miyamoto (Games Designer, Japan)

International Coooperation

Technical and Scientific Research

Social Sciences


Iker Casillas (Spain)


No comments: